Agenda

This is your exclusive opportunity to tap into the experience and knowledge of leaders at the helm of some of the industry’s largest organisations, as well as suppliers, clients and industry insiders at the coalface.

With a major focus on traveller health and safety, mitigating risk, sustainability and using the lessons learned from the pandemic to build business resilience for the long-term – Illuminate will be an important platform to help businesses of all sizes pivot and capitalise on the opportunities emerging in the post-pandemic recovery.

21 October 2021

9:00 am
 – 
9:30 am
 AEDT
11:00 am
 – 
11:30 am
 NZDT
Partner Showcase

Get to know our event partners.

9:30 am
 – 
9:50 am
 AEDT
11:30 am
 – 
11:50 am
 NZDT
Flying High in a Post-Pandemic World

Qantas CEO Alan Joyce takes us on a journey of what to expect domestically and internationally for the remainder of 2021 and beyond. Despite market challenges, Joyce remains positive about the future of flying and says, ‘the vaccine rollout means the end is in sight and the concept of lockdowns will be a thing of the past’. The Qantas CEO believes higher vaccination rates are the key to getting people back in the sky and travelling again.

Alan Joyce
James Kavanagh
NO REF
10:00 am
 – 
10:15 am
 AEDT
12:00 pm
 – 
12:15 pm
 NZDT
No more talking heads. Why face to face is critical for businesses and brands.

CEO of the Impossible Institute and a specialist in human behaviour is Illuminate guest speaker Dan Gregory. Dan’s insights into human behaviour – our motives, drives and belief systems, combined with his business acumen and rapier wit, will bring the lightbulb moments.

Dan Gregory
NO REF
10:15 am
 – 
10:25 am
 AEDT
12:15 pm
 – 
12:25 pm
 NZDT
Swimming towards 2032

Join FCM’s General Manager, Melissa Elf and Olympic gold medal swimmer and 2021 Olympics’ open ceremony flagbearer for Australia, Cate Campbell, OAM, as they step up to the blocks to discuss navigating change and what it takes to succeed in the face of a pandemic and beyond.

Melissa Elf
Cate Campbell OAM
NO REF
10:30 am
 – 
10:50 am
 AEDT
12:30 pm
 – 
12:50 pm
 NZDT
In Panel: Putting Responsible Travel into practice

Responsible Travel – what is it and how is it influencing travel programs and business strategy? FCM’s Head of Account Management Australia, Renos Rologas talks to organisations that are making a positive difference environmentally, socially and through their governance strategies. Hear from Jeff Elliott, ANZ’s Environmental Sustainability Change Lead and Renae Trimble, Chief Commercial Officer for Accor on how their approach to global sustainability is shaping the way they do business and travel.

Renos Rologas
Jeff Elliott
Renae Trimble
NO REF
11:00 am
 – 
11:05 am
 AEDT
1:00 pm
 – 
1:05 pm
 NZDT
The future has arrived … in the USA

Domestic business travel in the US is almost back to pre-covid levels, border and travel restrictions are at a minimum and life is full steam ahead as per the new normal. If the travel environment in the USA is anything to go by, we better prepare for a speedy return to elevated business activity. FCM’s General Manager, Melissa Elf chats to Charlene Leiss, President of Flight Centre Travel Group’s corporate business in the USA, about what it’s really like to be living, working and traveling in the USA post-pandemic.

Melissa Elf
Charlene Leiss
NO REF
11:10 am
 – 
11:30 am
 AEDT
1:10 pm
 – 
1:30 pm
 NZDT
Partner Showcase

Get to know our event partners.

11:10 am
 – 
11:15 am
 AEDT
1:10 pm
 – 
1:15 pm
 NZDT
It’s time to hit the reset button for the hotel industry

It’s go time for the accommodation sector. General Manager of FCM Consulting, Felicity Burke, along with Quest's Anthea Dimitrakopoulos talk hotel trends – rates, occupancy levels, location, demand and forward predictions. With rates across most Australian cities still down on 2019 levels, but on a steep incline upwards – what can buyers expect from the Australian and global hotel sector come 2022?

Felicity Burke
Anthea Dimitrakopoulos
NO REF
11:35 am
 – 
11:55 am
 AEDT
1:35 pm
 – 
1:55 pm
 NZDT
Bill Evans puts the future of finance into perspective

Business is one thing. But economic markets are another. Get up to speed on what the fiscal future looks like with Bill Evans, renowned Australian Economist. Currently the Managing Director: Economics of Westpac, Evans is the bank’s economic spokesman, sits at the helm of the organisation’s economic and capital markets research, and is also a Westpac Board advisor. Money talks and so can Evans.

Bill Evans
NO REF
12:00 pm
 – 
12:20 pm
 AEDT
2:00 pm
 – 
2:20 pm
 NZDT
Virgin poised and ready for post-pandemic success

Virgin Australia Group CEO and former Chief Executive at Jetstar and A2 Milk Jayne Hrdlicka will talk to Virgin Australia’s business transformation and direction for the future, which includes repositioning the airline as a mid-market carrier that ‘appeals to customers after a great value airfare and better service’. Virgin is building its new proposition around price-conscious corporate travellers, small to medium businesses, premium leisure travellers and holidaymakers.

James Kavanagh
Jayne Hrdlicka
NO REF
12:30 pm
 – 
12:50 pm
 AEDT
2:30 pm
 – 
2:50 pm
 NZDT
The Covid Classroom

Grab your fins and mask as Flight Centre CEO Skroo Turner takes a deep dive into the important lessons of 2020 and how pivoting is here to stay for the travel industry.

Graham 'Skroo' Turner
Tom Walley
NO REF
12:50 pm
 – 
1:50 pm
 AEDT
2:50 pm
 – 
3:50 pm
 NZDT
Partner Showcase

Get to know our event partners.

Register to attend Illuminate 2021
REGISTER NOW

Thank you to our Diamond event partners.

Serko
Sabre
FCM
Corporate Traveller
FCM Meetings and Events
Stage and Screen
FCBT